ExamTiger : Simplified Guide for competitive exams and interviews
Aptitude Tests, Mental Ability, Objective MCQ Sets, Questions and Answers, PDF, Shortcut Tips

List of All Prime Ministers of India (Since Independence)

Here is an at-a-glance list of Prime Ministers of India since Independence. But, before that some quick facts about Indian Prime Ministers : At the national level, Prime Minister is the head of Government. Prime Minister is elected by members of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the parliament of India.According to Constitution of India, Lok Sabha is The House of the People, that represents citizens of India. President of India appoints the Prime Minister of India. First Prime Minister of India is Jawahar Lal Nehru. He is also the longest serving Prime Minister of India. Only Women Prime Misnister of India is Indira Gandth. Nadendra Modi (Narendra Damodardas Modi) is the seventeenth Prime Minister of India. Total 16 Lok Sabha election took place in India.

No. Name Period of Service Political Party
1Jawahar Lal Nehru15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964Congress
2Gulzarilal Nanda27-May-1964 to 9-Jun-964Congress
3Lal Bahadur Shastri09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966Congress
4Gulzarilal Nanda11-Jan-1966 to 24-Jan-1966Congress
5Indira Gandhi24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977Congress
6Morarji Desai24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979Janata Party
7Charan Singh28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980Janata Party
8Indira Gandhi14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984Congress
9Rajiv Gandhi31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989Congress(Indira)
10Vishwanath PratapSingh02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990Janata Dal
11Chandra Shekhar10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991SJP
12P. V. Narasimha Rao21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996Congress
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996BJP
14H. D. Deve Gowda01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997Janata Dal
15Atal Bihari Vajpayee19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004BJP
16Dr. Manmohan Singh22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014Congress
17Narendra Modi26-May-2014BJP